All the #EpicShit I Didn’t Do In 2016…

Whatever. 

Some of the carefully crafted intentions I set for myself in 2016 didn’t happen.

I didn’t find the rocking country band that I really want to have in my life.
I didn’t add any new 14ers to my list.
I didn’t reach my business revenue growth goal (it was aggressive).
I didn’t have much personal horse time.
I didn’t spent two weeks in Hawaii.
I didn’t put as much attention on my closest relationships as I’d pictured.

I didn’t…
Oh how I could go on.

SO WHAT?

There was a LOT I didn’t do this year.

But…

I still accomplished a shit ton in 2016.

A. SHIT. TON. (Did I mention how much I like saying “Shit ton”?  LOL!)

And, I’m going to focus my attention here. In this beautiful brightness.

Why?

Where your attention goes, your energy flows.

I want to notice what is WORKING for me so that I can do MORE of it.

I want to appreciate the ACTIONS I took to CRUSH, so I can light that shit UP in the coming year!

Yes, I subscribe to the simple strengths-based approach.

Screw obsessing about weaknesses.
You won’t find me SWATing anything over here.

You’ll find me SOAR(ing).
Assessing strengths. Opportunities. Aspirations. Results.

Well, at least on most days. 🙂
Some days it’s easy to drift your focus to all that’s broken or undone.
To get all dark and gloomy.
But, I’m working on having fewer and fewer of these days.

Accentuating the positive. That’s where I’m zeroed in.

I’m shocked and appalled at how many people this time of year get super sad when they look at their 2016 goals. The guilt and defeated hearts I see is so sad. Most people immediately gloss over the HUGE list of AMAZING things they DID.

It’s SO curious.

If I ask them what they DID WELL this year, they might start off with one or two things they saw as wins, but then it’s interesting to see how many people will then start talking about all the things they DIDN’T accomplish. They move from talking about awesomeness to crap quicker than quick. And they do it totally UNPROMPTED.

It’s almost like they can’t stop themselves from sharing their “Shit Not Accomplished” list…and backstory. Ahhhhh…the road blocks they’ve faced. The excuses, complicated stories, and dead dreams.

It’s like watching a gorgeous butterfly gliding through the air and then suddenly seeing it get smashed by a frying pan.

It’s really depressing.

It’s EASY to think about all the things that didn’t get done…(so that you can learn not to do it that way again, RIGHT?!)…but you CAN’T stay there.

>>>You have to catch yourself and then re-direct.

When you catch yourself rehashing what went wrong for the 16th time, think…yeah, but what went RIGHT?! 

Notice where your mind runs to…and redirect any time it’s on the path to crazy land.

Being dark and gloomy sucks.
Who cares about the #epichshit that didn’t get done in 2016?!

Let’s band together today and decide that it’s time to be brighter. Shinier.
Based more in love (for ourselves and others) and positivity. 

Ya, I know.
What I just wrote above sounds super cheesy. But…I don’t care.
There’s a lot of hate in the world already…let’s not hate on ourselves so much.
Let’s focus on the badassery that’s being shared with the world. Let’s focus on action. Let’s focus on…the majorly #EpicShit!

And…let’s get super SERIOUS about doing even MORE of it in the coming year.

What do you think? To pie in the sky?
I don’t think so.
Your mind is so powerful.
Use it wisely my friend.

P.S.

Here are four things I’m insanely proud of for my 2016:

  1. Owning my SPEAKER status.
    I had my first official “Keynote” this year and it felt amazing. Although I’ve been speaking from big stages for my entire professional career (and even before that as a rodeo queen), being labeled as a Keynote Speaker was huge for me. Something clicked within my personal beliefs about my skills and abilities and I’ve started seeing myself as a speaker who can easily rock stages of all sizes…even arenas. And the thing that’s the sweetest about my experiences speaking this year? For the first time I was speaking from a stage and totally sharing MY message vs. a corporate or industry message, and it was powerful. I AM a powerful speaker. And I can’t wait to do more of it in 2017.
    speakingignite
  2. Getting better and better at my momma-lady boss hustle.
    I went from an experience of taking my kids to daycare 5-days a week to one or two days a week over the past year and a half and it’s been hard as hell…and exactly what I wanted…and I’ve made huge strides in how I’m hustling for my business and taking care of kids, house, etc. I hired a housekeeper, got better at leveraging my work schedule around the natural flows of energy the kids have throughout the day, plus I got really good at mastering the naptime hustle. But, the most important thing I did was to get into a better routine of waking up at 5AM on some mornings to do yoga, journal and/or get a jump start on my work projects. This extra two hours in my day made SUCH an amazing difference for me. Self care is huge. I’ll be doing it more in 2017.
    unspecified
  3. Saying YES to Travel & Adventure.
    I love experiencing new adventures and people, especially when I can do it along with doing work that I really love. I ate the most amazing burnt ends in Kansas City. I saw the famous NYC Christmas tree in Rockefeller Center and walked through Central Park in fall (and met the amazing Grant Cardone in Times Square). I toured a killer western movie set on a working cattle ranch in Banff, where I also saw the most amazing part of the Rockies I’ve ever laid eyes. I got to see three different parts of beautiful Montana (but still didn’t run into John Mayer, although I did see a mermaid). I had the opportunity to influence the conversation around antimicrobial resistance in DC between animal and human health. I watched the longhorns plod down the streets of Fort Worth. I saw my friend win another UFC fight in Vegas. We took road trips to Idaho, Nebraska and Texas with both kids and survived! And MUCH more, including a last-minute trip to Cabo with friends last week.
    15675894_866838376752321_2377272541546557797_o
  4. My tribe has my back.
    I saw this in SO many ways this year, but one of the most prevalent ways was when I had unexpected surgery to remove a 10 cm malignant tumor from my belly (along with my fallopian tubes and my right ovary). Hello…where had THAT thing been hiding!? LOL. Anywho…this experience gave me the opportunity to remember the importance of asking for/accepting help when you need it and the opportunity to see how many people have my back. The sweet texts, Facebook messages, calls, cards, emails, gifts, etc. that my tribe gave me were tremendous. I felt mad love surrounding me and it was amazing. I love the people in my life.

I’d love to hear what you’re in love with about your 2016!
Comment below or shoot me a message on Facebook

And remember…If you’re crushing all of your goals each year, I think you’re playing too small. Set bigger goals. Move into the eye of fear a little more. Stretch your magic. That’s where the truly #epicshit happens!

Cheers to all the #EpicShit that everyone accomplished in 2016!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

