My First Food Blog-Prime Rib

Original post 12/29/13

I’m no wizard in the kitchen, but I must say that over the past three years of working for the beef community, I’ve learned a ton about cooking with beef.  Here goes my first “food” blog in an attempt to share some of the lovely beef knowledge I’ve picked up along the way.

It’s becoming a Christmas tradition to serve a Prime Rib dinner.  The first year I attempted this cut of beef I was sweating bullets because I didn’t want to screw up such a lovely and not so inexpensive roast.   Last year, I felt a little more confident since I’d had one good success and this year I felt fairly confident that something delish would result.

Now I can say without a doubt that Prime Rib really IS easy (pretty much fool proof)!  There are lots of different ways it can be prepared, but today I’m sharing SJ’s tips to help you look like a rockstar in the kitchen with Prime Rib.  Just follow these SIMPLE steps:

1. Get your oven HOT!

Pre-heat to 500 degrees.  Don’t worry, you’ll reduce the heat to 350 degrees after the rib has cooked for about 15 minutes.  I really don’t know why you should do this…someone said to do it this way, and it works for me…so TRY IT!

2. Rub it. 

Take your rib directly from the fridge and rub it with your favorite blend of spices and herbs.  I like to keep my Prime Rib simple with coarse sea salt, freshly ground pepper and minced garlic.

Get started by rubbing a generous amount of garlic all over the rib.  This year I was lazy and just used minced garlic right out of the jar but fresh is always delish if you’re up to it.
 Image

Next mix equal parts of salt and freshly ground pepper in a small bowl (maybe a little more salt than pepper).  For a 7 lb roast is used roughly a half cup of each.  Rub the mix all over, in all the little nooks and crannies.  This part isn’t a fine science.  Just make sure you have enough to create a thick crust all over the rib.

3. Rack it up, fat side up.

Place the rib on a roasting rack vs. directly into the roasting pan, with the fatty side of the roast facing up.  As the fat cooks, it will melt all over the meat and add juicy flavor.  Yum! 

4. Temp it. 

A meat thermometer is a MUST when cooking steaks and roasts.  If you over-cook your Prime Rib you’ll cry and a few minutes can make a BIG difference. 

This year I used a digital thermometer you can leave in the beef during the entire cooking process.  This rocked because it allowed me to see how it was cooking and I could set an alarm letting me know when it was ready and I didn’t have to keep opening the oven to check it.     

The key is to pull the beef out of the oven BEFORE it reaches your optimal internal temp.  See the next step for the “why.”

 Image

5. Rest it. 

If you skip this step, you’re skipping out on juiciness.  Don’t get in a hurry with your beef!  After you pull it from the oven, it needs a moment to mellow out.  Rest a Prime Rib for 20-30 minutes, covered in foil.  The cool thing is that while the beef is resting, the juices are redistributing throughout and it continues to cook. 

I pulled my roast at 135 (took about 2.5 hours for 7 LBs), and after 20-30 minutes it was a perfect medium rare at 145. 
 

Image

You’ll want to rest ANY steak or roast you make.  It always provides a better eating experience. 
 
That’s it.  Rub it, stick it in the oven, rest it and enjoy it! 

Not sure how big of a rib to buy or how long to cook it?  Be sure to check out the “Confident Cooking with Beef” tool (I like to call it the Beef Bible) at http://www.beefitswhatsfordinner.com.  It will give you all the answers and much, much, more. 

I wish I hadn’t waited until my mid-30’s to try a Prime Rib, but I’m so glad I finally gave it a whirl!  Now it’s your turn!  Enjoy a nice Prime Rib for New Years!  You’ll look like a rockstar and your family will thank you.

Remember:  Beef, It’s what’s for dinner! 

 

Leave a Reply

